Updates, Crafts and Preparations

It’s that time of the year again. The time where all spare moments are dedicated to panic-sewing. The time where there’s a constant list in your head of all the things you must remember to pack. It’s the time where you have to look over your equipment, and write a list of what you need to acquire.

Market season is upon us!

It’s been two months since last I posted something, and that was a hair tutorial that I shot. Since my hair was the last thing I blogged about, I felt it was a good place to start. I had to cut it. Not much, but at least 10 cm was lost in the process, because it was too dead to even bother saving. I’ve been dyeing and bleaching it for years, so it was only a question of time before I had to do something drastic, but in the end this is a lot better for my hair!

tumblr_o91d6kBvj51rkm7joo7_1280

I wasn’t very pleased, but it was necessary. It’s been about a month now and I’ve gotten used to it, but I still miss those centimeters. Still, I’ve been treating it with a lot more care, and decided to revert back to my natural colour. Meaning I will just let it grow for now, and eventually have my hairdresser dye the rest the same colour as my roots.

69463_113770678685826_4236108_n
my natural haircolour (2010)

At first braiding was a bit difficult. I had so much less hair to work with, and it just wasn’t behaving. It was almost like having to re-learn it with my shorter hair, and while there are some styles I simply cannot do (because it is just a bit too short and/or too thick), but I “invented” a few new ones that I’m looking forward to show to you in time.

13124776_1180502115295748_8419307066075341073_n
warrior braids with my “short” hair

Previous years I have only attended markets in the northern parts of Norway (Trondheim being the furthest south), but this season I’m heading for Borre as well. Borre is really far south, and the climate is completely different, so I had to do some changes to my wardrobe!

tumblr_o91d6kBvj51rkm7joo6_1280
my first serk, looking really wrinkly before transformation

Heavy wool dresses will not do, and many vikings from the north have started making sleeveless serks for the warmer days. I’ve been planning on making a new serk for a while, since I’m not entirely pleased with the first one I made, and I’ve been wondering what to do with the old one. So the combined need of a sleeveless one, and the question of what to do with the old one only lead to one solution: transformation!

tumblr_o91d6kBvj51rkm7joo3_1280
sleeveless serk

I simply plucked off the sleeves, and made the neck-line a bit deeper. It is really comfortable, and looks just as good with an apron dress as it does without. It is gonna be a lifesaver for me at the Borre marked, as well as for the really hot days on the other markets.

tumblr_o91d6kBvj51rkm7joo4_1280

My old serk wasn’t the only dress I wanted to renew. This is the first apron dress I made, and it was later transformed into the “Wolf Queen” dress with fancy embroidery at the front. I’ve been adjusting this almost every year, but I’ve never been completely satisfied with the result, so this was the solution: take it apart, and sew it back together!

1
Wearing the old serk and apron dress for the first time

My sewing skills have improved a lot over the years, and so has my eye for detail! I’m really attached to this apron dress, despite always wanting to replace it with something different. When I came to realise that all of my other apron dresses are made out of wool, leaving this one behind simply wasn’t an option.

Wood-Background
The “Wolf Queen” dress!

The fit is a lot better now, and I hope I will be pleased with the finished result. I removed the embroidery, though I’m debating if I should leave it plain, or take the tablet weave belt from the picture above and use it to line the top of the dress. I’ve also taken the time to “fold in” the inner seams, both because I think it looks prettier, and because it is a bit more historically accurate.

crafts
still a bit more to do, but I’m really pleased with the result so far

Finally, I’ve had to make a replacement for my old white serk. I made it from light 100% linen fabric, bleached white, and it is so comfortable to wear! A bit see-through perhaps, and a bit too “clean” white for my taste, but with some use it will both look and feel a lot better!

tumblr_o91d6kBvj51rkm7joo2_1280

Also have a few minor “projects” to complete before heading off, but I’m glad I’m (almost) done with all the big ones.

Will I be seeing any of you at Borre this year?

Leave a Reply

