Sword and Camera Test

 

1

I ventured out into the freezing cold yesterday armed with my brand new camera and sword. The temperature was at least -15 degrees Celsius, but at the bottom of the valley by the river, it felt more like -20. Despite the cold, I got dressed in my thickest winter clothing and ventured out into the daylight. That’s right! We have more than one hour of daylight now!

As I mentioned in the post “Midwinter Solstice”, we have a couple of months in the winter with no sun. Today is the 21st of January, and it is also the day the sun returns from it’s long slumber. I was not one of the fortunate who had the opportunity to go outside and catch the first rays shining over the mountains, but my trip yesterday made up for it.

3

I spent about two hours outside yesterday in the freezing cold, experimenting with the settings of my new camera. I am far from a professional photographer, and depend on others to take my pictures for me. So this was the first “photoshoot” I did on my own, with the snowy valley and my sword as my model.

5

I’m not a swords-woman, and I have no training when it comes to wielding a blade (yet), so for now this is purely for decoration. The sword is a replica of the blade Herugrim, the weapon wielded by King Theoden in the Peter Jackson movies of Lord of the Rings. It is by far my favourite sword ever, and I love the details on both the movie version and my replica. I also love that Weta Workshop took inspiration from viking swords when designing this very blade, while also capturing the Rohan essence.

4

I’ve mentioned this before, but I love winter. There is no leaf that can out-match the beauty of frost on the twigs and branches. No meadow more beautiful than a field of fresh-fallen snow. Winter makes everything looks so peaceful, especially now when the sun and the light returns to us here in the north.

8

7

6

2

 

More winter pictures (hopefully with some archery as well) are coming soon!

3 thoughts on “Sword and Camera Test

Leave a Reply

