Lofotr Vikingfestival (part 1)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The StraumEyjar camp

I returned last night from the most amazing week of my life at the Lofotr Vikingfestival. I have many tales to tell, a lot of new experiences, and a bunch of new friends after this. In fact, I do not really know where to start because there is so much to tell!

Therefore I have decided to split this post into at least two parts, because I am certain I will forget something and remember it later.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So where to begin? This festival had it’s ups and downs (the downs mostly bad weather), but it is the best festival I have attended. And much of the reason for that comes from the incredible people I have met. On earlier festivals, I have been shy and not really gone out to talk to people  This year though, I had decided beforehand that I would socialize more, and I am now proud to say I have had the best bromance ever with the sweetest guy from Bergen, overcome my stage fright by singing with a really talented guy from France, gotten so much positive feedback from complete strangers and befriended an awesome fighter group, among many others!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Viking life

Another thing that was different this year from the last two was that I got to sleep in the camp itself and not just in the “plastic-camp”. Waking up in a viking camp is just amazing, and walking through the camp in the morning with messy hair, only wearing your chemise (serk), have people smile at you and tell you good morning… I wish every day could be like that! It is confidence-building on a whole new level, because everyone is living the way you do. There is no pressure on wearing make-up or waking up with perfect hair. You just have to be yourself. And that is what I love about viking festivals!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This lovely bunch of people made every single day amazing! I think I watched at least six of their shows and eventually became their main cheerleader, shouting in response to their show. They were entertaining both as actors and fighters, and the best part was that none of the shows were the same, despite having the same story. The Alenfit fighters have some of the best humor I have seen in a show, and they are extremely friendly as long as you don’t mention you have bacon in your camp (they will literally murder you to get their hands on it).

I really hope they will be able to make it to Lofotr next year, as well as the Háelyg market in Bodø, because we northerners are always in need of a good laugh and some friendly faces.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 Now I mentioned not wearing make-up, but I still love fixing my hair! In fact, very few people have actually seen me with my hair loose (except in the morning when my hair is a mess). And this year, the lovely lady Kim (who’s blog you have to check out) and I decided we’d try sewing hair together instead of using pins. And the result was just gorgeous! I have to learn to stitch my own hair because I want to wear something like this every single day. Not only is this historically accurate, it is also practical and my hair didn’t fall loose until I removed the thread. I ran around with it all day, changed clothes, put on my hood and laid on the ground and it still held it’s shape. Definitely doing this again!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
In the Lofotr Longhouse

So overall this was an incredible festival! And this is only the first part of what I am planning to publish here. I will eventually write a post with more specific stories from the festival, and then a couple of other posts with thoughts that came to my mind while at the festival.

Thank you all for a lovely festival, and for all the memories! We will meet again!

You can see more pictures in my album: Lofotr 2015

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

